top of page
  • thenoireproject

Releasing an EP

...and trying not to combust in the process.


Heya, space rangers, and welcome back to the blog of NOIRE, a very poorly 21 year old.

I'll start off with an update: I am quickly losing all grasps I have left on my own reality, and descending into a pit of despair that one can only describe as 'having a cold'. But, I'm on the way out of it, using the time to really try to prioritise my physical and emotional wellness, and also working on some of my online stuff!


So, I released my debut EP, on schedule! I was nervous about everything somehow falling apart, and after not releasing much for the last year, my biggest fear was not being able to live up to the standards of everybody wanting to hear new work from me.


See, 'iced coffee' was a beautifully simple piece. It was short, meaningful, and got the message across very well. But in releasing a new song after that, there's always going to be a fear of not upholding your own 'style', especially when you don't have as much work out. Since people can take what they want from an artist, it sometimes feels like releasing more music narrows what you can create, as well as the expectations of the listener. So, I was stuck in a little rut. How can I create unique music that won't limit myself, but won't deter from the music I already have?

So, I worked with new instruments; strings, to be exact. I worked with a production team that listened to my desires and inspirations and did everything in their power to make it a reality. And with that, 'Slowly' was made: possibly my favourite song I've released so far.

I'm always nervous about working with collaborators on my original music. Something about giving such a vulnerable piece of yourself to somebody and giving them the creative freedom to make it flourish- it's an anxiety you can never really predict, as a songwriter. And trust me, I've had experiences collaborating with people who didn't quite understand my artistic vision- it's a difficult feeling.

I definitely struck gold with the group I worked with. A group of such talented and inspired creators, and they're really doing God's work for musicians like myself. If any of you are reading this, I really would love to work with you all in the future!


Maybe all of this is just me rambling on about my anxieties, but I hope that you can find something in this. ruin. was a deep, but not too deep, dive into my own emotions; love, obsession, heartbreak, and the agony of it all- the 'ruin' left behind.

I usually assign a bit of 'homework' to the reader, something to inspire creativity, take risks and see how you can challenge yourself in different ways. I think that this time, you should take a chance with the best collaborator you can think of- show them that piece of music you hold so dearly, and let your mind open to the potential of what your music could be shaped into. See your song as a substance ready to be moulded and shaped into something more beautiful than you could ever imagine. If you're a songwriter, I'd recommend looking at some of Lewis Capaldi's demo tracks, and compare how they are shaped into the incredible pop hits that are produced. It's super interesting!


Thank you all so much for reading. If you haven't already, I'd love for you to listen to ruin. by NOIRE (me!), and let me know what you think! All feedback is always so appreciated.

I hope to see you soon, space rangers. <3

~ NOIRE.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page