top of page
  • thenoireproject

Putting Yourself Out There

... and how you can attract new business just by being you!


Heya, space rangers, and welcome to another blog.


First of all, wow! We had 40 visits to my last post alongside my website's launch. It's made me so elated to continue writing these for you! So, let's get straight into this. I've got some fun things to talk about in this one.



 


"Putting yourself out there", it seems like a simple one, but the complexities and confidence needed to pull it off is intense- especially within the music industry. Like I referenced in the last entry, we tend to see ourselves become trapped in the endless sea of new voices when we release new music; Billboard (2023) states that over 100,000 new songs are released to Spotify daily. With this, it becomes infinitely more dread-inducing to put your music out for the world to see.

But, as I was saying in a meeting today, I believe this can be a source of power for emerging musicians like ourselves. Unlike being attached to certain types of management and labels restricting certain creative output (I'm not talking about all of them, of course! Please hire me), freelancers have the opportunity to experiment with their work and release unfiltered music to discover and refine their unique 'sound'.

So- and I know this still isn't easy- release it! If you're uncomfortable releasing under your own name, see if you can find an alter-ego for yourself, and perform as that person. Upload your demos to SoundCloud! I haven't tried it personally, but it's a great starting point for somebody who doesn't want to dip into the funds for distributors.


I'll tell you why this works- at least, for me it did!

A few weeks ago, almost a year after the release of my single, 'iced coffee', I got an interesting message from a songwriter offering to collaborate, expressing their enjoyment of the work they'd heard from me! Coming from a completely different country, it must've just shown up on their Discover Weekly, or radio.

In other words, there's endless potential-seekers out there, and you'll never know where your music could land... until you do it.

Not to mention, there's no telling whether that TikTok draft you're too shy to post is going to go viral- for all the right reasons!


The world is waiting on the edge of their seats for you to come along. So give them what they cam ehere for. You might just get a pleasant surprise..!



 


Thank you so much for reading! Did you see my EP announcement? Give it a share if you get the chance! I love you all so much, and you're giving me the dream I've always wanted just by being here.


See you soon...

~ Noire. <3


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page